Auntie with Allergies

10419541_10154391321605577_6515986324290382807_n

Spending time with my family is important to me and watching my beautiful Niece (2) and Nephew ( 5 months) develop and grow is one of the most precious things in my life. With chalk and cheese personalities, but similar in appearances, they both equally share a magnificent importance to me.

Since the birth of my niece Francine, I have now acquired a second shadow. Not only does she look like me, talk like me and act like me… but has undoubtedly inherited her ‘Auntie pig’s’ ghetto booty.

Like any proud Auntie, I’m confident that my niece will be the next child genius… and in my niece’s case a genius of chocolate cake, another inherited similarity from her Auntie. For Francine it’s a chocolatey delight and for me it’s a guaranteed result of cellulite.

A few years later and along came Jorge, Jorgeous by name, Jorgeous by nature. Now I have no plans on having my own children any time soon, but someday in the future (very distant future), I hope to do the maternal thing and supposedly full fill myself as a woman blah blah blah.

If I was to imagine the perfect baby, Jorge would be it. With a smile like the cheshire cat, a womb tugging giggle and as silent as a mouse; he doesn’t cry when he goes to bed, nor when he wakes, even when he does you can’t help but love him, he’s just perfect – get the idea?

And like his big sister, he too is lucky enough to inherit his Auntie’s chunky bum- lucky boy!

Since starting work, I’ve had to narrow my visiting times with my babies from 6 days a week to around 4 – not enough.

That’s why when my Sister-in-law (Mummy to them) invited me along to Springfields Pony Centre for a birthday party, I jumped at the chance to spend quality time with my little gems…obviously not because I just needed to think of some content for my blog. I kid, I kid.

The weather was windy and slightly wet meaning only one thing to my niece – MUDDY PUDDLES! I’m sure anyone with a toddler would of heard this reference all to many times thanks to Peppa Pig.

With my wellies to the ready, my wax coat on and a ferret on my head, off we went to our destination. An avid horse lover I am, and a rookie Horse Rider I try, I suffer one problem – I am allergic to horses.

Fuelled up on antihistamines, I grew excited to spend a full day of pony rides, muddy puddles and party food -plenty of it.

Starting our day we arrived to greet the birthday boy who had happily turned three that day. The room was full of dinosaurs of all different types, big and small, scary and cute, even Georges dinosaur from Peppa pig (which Francine threw in a fountain) was present.

With a quick run around in the soft play area, childhood memories flooded my mind. Spending most of my younger days playing in an adventure park where my Mum worked, I spent my days playing in the indoor and outdoor playing areas, petting small animals and grooming the horses – a child’s delight! Darting through the foam barriers, walking the tight rope, narrowly trying to fit myself through the little holes and loops (I was a bit too optimistic), I had to remember who the child was here. I even had a try at the good old sack and slide, with Francine on my lap, we both screamed as we took off in a flash, almost propelling ourselves straight off the landing area.

With Jorge fast asleep and content as usual, the party of kids set outside to explore the outdoor play area and ponies. Watching the ponies in their pen, I couldn’t help but again feel a sense of nostalgia, with my allergies in mind I couldn’t resist to pet them – no one could allergy or not.

Accompanied with the ponies, were a flock of ducks, pygmy goats, sheep, rabbits and guinea pigs, and a good old fashion pig. Old MacDonald eat your heart out!

10434349_10154391283480577_4640949708598750964_n_Fotor_Collage

With hungry bellies rumbling, party food came just in time! With the children all sat in their seats (and Jorge on the floor, his favourite place) we filled our faces with mini sausages, crisps and sandwiches – mmmm perfect! Even Jorge enjoyed his share of small chunks of white bread.

Did I mention what one of my niece’s greatest talents was? She is the reincarnation of Houdini – like seriously. Playing escape artist, back and forth we would go, laughing as we chased her back into the party room.

As the day went on the rain came in, but as part of the special day, the hosts of the party kindly paid for the children to have pony rides. Not sure if we had missed them, we took Francine to have her pony ride, and Jorge who was now awake and smiling, to sit and dribble at the them. Lining up for our turn, Francine’s pony came to greet us, a 26 year-old Shetland Pony with a white mane and white socks, I felt like welling up …from the allergies. It was a proud moment when the assistant handed me the rope to walk both pony and Francine around the lake. From watching her learn to crawl, to then stumble, finally walking, to now riding a horse led by me made me one proud Auntie.

After a another quick run around in the indoor play area, a swift go on the slide and almost a repeated near take off. Tired eyes started to drop and hungry baby bellies wanted their bottle, we called an end to the day. With party bags in hand and sweet child goodbyes, we took our leave with just enough time for jumping in muddle puddles outside in the car park – that pig!

10590528_10154391282295577_6678137826150088246_n_Fotor_Collage

For a fun family day out, visit Springfield Pony Centre, a place for everyone to enjoy!

Leave a Reply

